Norms of Eligibility

Home At a Glance General Information Disclaimer

Norms of Eligibility

The eligibility for admission to different courses can be checked in detail from the prospectus of the university ( Sardar Patel university will consider only those students who have qualified from foreign Universities or Boards of Higher Education recognized as equivalent by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) as eligible for admission.

Prospective applicants are advised to apply to The Evaluation Officer, Association of Indian Universities, AIU House, 16 Comrad Indrajit Gupta Marg, New Delhi – 110 002, or by e-mail (, using the following form made available on this website, and paying the relevant fee to make sure that they are eligible. In case they fail to do so, the ISC may make a reference to AIU to check the equivalence and, in that case, the applicant shall be required to bear the expenditure involved in the process. To find out whether or not eligible for admission to Bachelor’s, Master’s, MPhil, or PhD programmes, please refer to the University Prospectus 2007-08 put on the website before applying.
Foreign examinations recognized as equivalent to +2 by AIU

The following foreign examination have been recognized by AIU as equivalent to +2 stage qualification of an Indian Board giving access to the Bachelor Degree programme at Indian Universities, including Professional Courses (

  • 12 years Baccalaureate Certificate of Afghanistan, France, Iraq and Tunisia
  • 12 years General Secondary Education Certificate of the Ministry of Education – Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and other Gulf countries
  • GCE or IGCSE or GCSE examinations of the approved British Examining Bodies in UK, Singapore, Hong Kong, and Mauritius with passes in 5 subjects at ‘Ordinary Level’ and 2 subjects at ‘Advanced Level’. For admission to professional courses – medical or engineering – Advanced level passes in Physics, Chemistry, Biology or Mathematics and English are essential besides 5 (Five) passes at GCE ‘Ordinary Level’
  • High School Diploma from accredited School of USA
  • Intermediate/Senior Secondary or Higher Secondary of the approved Boards in Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal
  • 12 years Secondary stage qualification of National Examination Board or Council of the Ministry of Education – Kenya, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Sudan, Uganda and Tanzania
  • 12-years Secondary Stage Examination conducted by various Provinces in Australia and Canada
  • GCE ‘Ordinary and Advanced’ level examinations of the Department of Examination, Government of Sri Lanka
  • 12-years STPM examination of Malaysia
  • 12-years Secondary Stage qualification of Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Socialist Republic of Vietnam and Yemen Arab Republic
  • ‘Abitur’ of Germany
  • 12-year High School Diploma awarded by the accredited American School or International Schools in other countries following American pattern of education.
Please Click here for Application Form for Equivalence Certificate