Academic Program

Post Graduate Programs under CISST

The process of initiation and design of curricula for academic programmes have been started immediately after the award of the PURSE-DST program. These programmes are being designed to be of inter-disciplinary nature with a strong component of research interwoven with teaching. The university has  organized a couple of brain storming sessions, first involving the Heads of the science departments and the second involving the faculty members of the Science Faculty, to discuss and develop new academic program pertaining to the areas of inter-disciplinary studies and research. The university thus identified the following areas for the development of teaching M.Sc. and research programs in the following Subjects 

  • Biomedical Science
  • Defence Science 
  • Earth Science
  • Bioinformatics

To facilitate design and implementation of the above programs of inter- discilplinary studies, the university has established CISST – Centre for Inter- disciplinary Studies in Science and Technology and earmarked about Rs. 50 lakhs from its own resource. This center would thus supplement the PURSE – DST program.

The syllabi for these courses have been prepared as per CBCS system in which candidate shall be required to take total four theory courses in each semester out of  which three will be core subjects and one will be elective. He/She can select one elective subject per semester. He/She is also required taking two subjects of practical in each semester.

 Syllabus for the First and Second semester will be common except elective papers while Third and Fourth semester will be for specialization. e.g. Defence Science, Biomedical Science, Earth Science etc. of interdisciplinary nature.

Career Oriented, Skill Based Post Graducate Programmes

Please click here to Course Structure

Collabrating Institutes and scientists/Academission for teaching M.Sc. Programme

Institutions involved in teaching Program

Semesters I and II:

SPU Departments 

Partner Institutions 

Semesters III:

SPU Departments

Partner Institutions